VCE Information Technology

VCE Information Technology focuses on the processing of data and the management of information and information systems.


The rapid pace of development in information and communications technology (ICT) is having a major influence on many aspects of society. Not only does ICT provide the capacity to change how tasks and activities are undertaken, but it also creates new opportunities in work, education, entertainment and society.

While it is important that students extend their use of ICT as a learning and personal tool, the study of VCE Information Technology encompasses information systems and how people interact with information technology to create structured information and to connect with others to exchange information. It encompasses the theoretical foundations of computation and techniques for writing programs and developing solutions. It also focuses on how the needs of individuals, organisations, communities and society are met through the combination of ICT and meaningful information.


VCE Information Technology equips students with appropriate knowledge and skills to use ICT responsibly and to make informed personal and workplace choices about developments in this exciting field. Students are encouraged to orient themselves towards the future, with an awareness of the technical and societal implications of ICT.


VCE Information Technology provides pathways to further studies in IT and to careers in ICT-based areas. It also prepares students for programs that require an IT-related subject or for a range of careers that require efficient and effective use of ICT.



The study is made up of six units:
Unit 1: IT in action
Unit 2: IT pathways
Units 3 and 4: IT applications
Units 3 and 4: Software development


Each unit contains between two and four Areas of Study.

Note: Students may elect to undertake one or both of these Units 3 and 4 sequences.



There are no prerequisites for entry to Units 1, 2 and 3. Students must undertake Unit 3 prior to undertaking Unit 4. Units 1 to 4 are designed to a standard equivalent to the final two years of secondary education.